The Fair and Foul by Allie Potts, a review.

51KkIUm79oL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

This is a sci/fi book with a bit of romance thrown in. It follows the adventures of a scientist Juliane in the near future as she works for a cutting edge technology company. She and her fellow scientists come up with some amazing advancements, that will benefit mankind. As you would expect things don’t go to plan and not every one’s motives are pure.

What I didn’t like;

Well to be honest the genre, I’m not a huge fan of science fiction or romance for that matter. I found the lack of magic wands, broomsticks, dragons and young men leaving home to follow an impossible yet vital quest a bit disappointing.

What I did like;

Pretty much everything, I thought I wouldn’t like the book as I said really not my sort of thing. The opening is excellent and well judged, just enough about the heroine’s childhood for the choices in the rest of the book to make sense but not too much that you become bored. The pace of the book is very good, not too manic but never becomes boring. There was a bit with the romance I thought might get a bit tedious but it didn’t the story moved on at the right time.

The characters, these were excellent, well balance and believable I thought the main baddie was a believable psychopath (can’t say who or it will be a spoiler). Several of them developed in a way I wasn’t expecting, which I always like in a book. This leads me on to my next point which is a decent amount of mystery and plot twists I didn’t see everything coming which is always a test of a good book.

Summary

Despite being the wrong genre for me I loved this book, I found it very hard to put down, I read it relatively quickly. I can’t believe I’m going to give a book without any magic in it 5 out of 5 but there it is. Go read this book!

UK amazon link

4 thoughts on “The Fair and Foul by Allie Potts, a review.

Leave a Reply

