My first book launch

51FuSdDuXsL._SX368_BO1,204,203,200_

Not my book unfortunately but the first one I have ever attended. It was for a romantic fiction book, which is not my sort of thing at all, but the author is the same writing group as me so I thought I would be supportive, plus I wanted to see what happen in one. I dragged my wife along with the promise of a cocktail afterwards so I wouldn’t look like a friendless weirdo at book launch for a book aimed at women, plus I like cocktails.

It was at the local library and we arrived a few minutes early, I was pleasantly surprised to see how many people had turned up. I was given a questionable glass of wine (the same brand as I use for cooking but let’s not hold that against her!) Unfortunately, all the good seats had been taken so we had to sit in the front, directly in the eye line of the author, so I had to maintain a smile on my face throughout as not to put her off. As a rule, I don’t like smiling it’s not a good look for me. In fact as I write this I’m wondering if that was a mistake, having a grinning idiot looking at you all the time you speak could have been very unnerving.

She started with the tale of how her book had come about, from an idea when she was eleven. It was very interesting and I marvelled at the amount of edits and re-writes it went through before it was now ready to be launched into the world.

She read the very first chapter and then answered some questions. She had quite a few, some of them a bit odd, all of which she answered very well.

Then came the book signing. I thought I would buy a copy for my nieces as to be frank it was really not my type of book. However, when I reached her I couldn’t remember which one was the oldest. I didn’t want to incur my sister wrath by sending an inappropriate book to the youngest. I babbled something about how I had forgotten which is the oldest and just to sign in. She probably thought I was a secrete reader of woman’s fiction and just made the mysterious unnamed nieces up on the spot, after all what sort of useless uncle can’t remember the ages of nieces? You might be wondering if my sister will be cross at me for forgetting the names, but I know she doesn’t read my blog because I’ve added in some references to her before as she has never mentioned them. I should add, in my defence, I do have a problem with names and I’m forever mixing people up.

With the signed book safely stored in my wife’s handbag we headed off to get a very enjoyable cocktail, I had a Bellini which would again suggest I secretly liked woman’s fiction. I haven’t posted the book off yet because my wife said she might read it first.

The book does look good, if you like that sort of thing, so go and buy a copy, you could get one for your niece.

UK amazon link
USA amazon link – currently not available, if you are reading this Michelle you might want to upload a kindle version!
Michelle Woollacott’s blog

26 thoughts on “My first book launch

      1. Thank you for atlest letting me in. The Holy Spirit will lead you my friend. Every body in Saint. And every Saint was a sinner. I also at one of my life never believed in God. But here I am after God Changed my life. There is love my friend. Previously I was searching love and other things from the world. I was still imperfect. But when I asked God. When I told him Jesus I just cannot stay imperfect any longer. I’m dying help me. That was the miracle moment of my first. That was the day when I felt that power of God which raised Christ from death. Dont worry I have faith in God. And I trust you. And I know God willl never ever give up on you. Amen. Hallelujah God Bless you my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you for the chuckle, Eric. I bet you learnt a thing or two at the gathering, seated in the wrong position and grinning foolishly 😉
    I would like to invite you to my blog party which is going on right now. It goes on through the weekend. It’s a great opportunity to mingle with other awesome bloggers like you. I hope to see you. The party link is titled Summery blog party live link. Regards, Jacqueline

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Eric, thank you for this! Sorry about the cheap wine – definitely a case of quantity over quality I’m afraid… :/ You are clearly a man of fine tastes.

    It took a few days to appear on Amazon, but here are the links to where you can buy the book, if you wanted to add these into the post:

    http://michellewoollacottwriter.blogspot.co.uk/p/all-that-you-want.html

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/All-That-You-Want/dp/136782205X/ref=pd_rhf_se_p_img_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=RQFH6BCZCFY7NHCNG66W/

    Many thanks, and the book will be available on Kindle soon.

    Kind regards.

    P.S. I love your site, it looks very professional!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Michelle, sorry about the wine comment it was meant to be funny but my wife was horrified I put it on. I just drink what is ever on offer in Tesco’s! I’ll edit the post and repost it tomorrow.

      Like

  3. I just knew you’d come unstuck assuming ‘she’ didn’t read your blog! Great post, and as a man who attempts to write contemporary romance I say good job done by you on behalf of your author acquaintance as I’ll take a look at her book. And please don’t edit out the cheap wine line, it’s a typical ‘Eric’ one, I should know! Cheers Eric (the 2nd)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Eric, many thanks again for this write-up and I have included a link on my blog back to this post in return 🙂 :

    http://michellewoollacottwriter.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/a-book-to-tick-off-my-list.html

    Sorry for being slow – do you mean the Amazon USA link wasn’t working, or the link back to my blog?

    Here is the amazon.com link; I think it’s OK now:
    https://www.amazon.com/All-That-Want-Michelle-Woollacott/dp/136782205X/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1466374704&sr=8-4&keywords=all+that+you+want

    As far as I can see, I think the link to my blog seems OK, but please let me know if and where you think there might be any problems as I’d love to address any teething problems!

    Again, thank you very much for your publicity! 🙂

    Michelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

