Back to earth with a bump

DSCF0402

I’ve just started on editing the first draft of my book. Yes, I do know I have mention that I’ve finished the first draft more than once, but hey I’ve never written a book before.
I’ve not looked at the first chapter for about six months but this was the one chapter I had already done a lot of work on. I did stop and leave it alone or I was in danger of never finishing part two. Yes, Now I have mentioned it twice in the same article!

Anyway reading again was a bit of a shock last time I was quite pleased with it, this time I was not. It’s not total pile of rubbish but it’s not that good. I couldn’t believe how much telling I had left in it after already re-writing it a few times. I’ve re-written about a third of it and, now am a lot happy with it. What really worries me when I come back to if for another re-draft in about two months will I hate it again? At this rate I will never feel my book is ready for publishing.

I once read that no author is ever 100% happy with their book, you can never quite write the book you want to. But at what point do you hand over to the editor? When you are 50% happy 75%? I have no idea; this book may never see the light of day. I might be destined to be forever re-wringing it always say, ‘The next draft, it will be ready then!’

3 thoughts on “Back to earth with a bump

  1. Ah-ha! Welcome to the Variable Zone.
    Allow me…
    You see one of the problems with writing is the mood of the author. We are never in the same mood. So we write something and all looks good, and then we go back to it determined to tidy it up and in that business-like frame of mind we do so. Then we look back at it again months later, and the book has moved on, and maybe we didn’t really want to look at the start again, because (a handful of reasons) and we maybe ‘huffy’ about having to do it, or feeling nervous just in case we bring the whole thing crashing down by finding out a flaw. Or we could just be in a bad mood that day. So the poor inoffensive opening gets looked at in a negative light.
    This circumstance can of course can be heightened when you know you’re passing it over to a professional to look at and you don’t want to appear sloppy
    This is where Beta-Readers come into their own. OR if you feel you don’t want to ask someone to read a whole book, you could always post up the opening chapters on your blog, asking folk for their opinions and see how the feed-back looks.
    There again, as some I know will say ‘That’s it! I’m done! Let someone else look at it Full steam ahead!’
    My rule of thumb (writing health warning applies here) is when I am very fed-up of looking at the work for the (whatever number)th time is the time I set it loose. Of course I should point out at this stage that I have written three books and my total sales are…errr…one, so you might not want to take that 100%.
    At the end of the day, feed-back is the important factor in knowing how you are doing.
    Hope that helps.
    Best wishes,
    Roger

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

